Tina's Gun Academy, LLC

No Fear, Just Fun


The overall objective is to educate students on the responsibilities and LAWS applicable to License to Carry holders. This class can only be taught in the State of Texas, and can only be taught by a License to Carry A Handgun Instructor certified by the Texas Department of Public Safety. 

 In this class we cover the LAWS pertaining to handgun ownership and responsibility, handgun use and safety, use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns, non-violent dispute resolution, the use of force and the use of violent/deadly force and proper storage with an emphasis on eliminating the possibility of accidental injury to a child. These things will make the difference in you protecting yourself, or you going to jail in the event you ever need to use your firearm against another person. Or you may only lose your license.And then there were none.

The fee paid to TGA covers the classroom instruction and testing, and the range proficiency testing necessary to provide you with a LTC-100 form, the Certificate of Training, required by the Texas Department of Public Safety to issue your Texas License To Carry. You will receive your signed form from me upon successful completion of both Classroom and Range testing.

The 4 Steps to becoming a Texas License To Carry holder...

  1. Take the LTC class, pass the written test and range proficiency. 
  2. Complete the TX DPS Online Application.
  3. Have your electronic fingerprints taken and submitted to TX DPS - you should receive an email with instructions upon uploading your Application.
  4. Upload your LTC-100 and any additional supporting documents to TX DPS.
  • Leave your firearm and ammunition locked inside your car during class.  You will not need these until we go to the range. 
  • Class will start promptly at the schedule time and will be approximately 4-5 hours long.
  • Only Registered Students will be allowed in the classroom. If another friend or family member would like to sit in that’s great, but they must be a Registered Student.
  • Children are not allowed in the classroom.
  • There will be breaks during 4-5 hours class.
  • When you have a question, ask the question. If I cannot answer it immediately, I will have an answer by the end of the class. I don’t know everything and I learn something from every class I teach, LTC or others.
  • The class will end with a test of 28 multiple choice questions.
  • You must know how to use and operate your handgun before the range proficiency test.


  • #1 - Assume every gun is loaded and treat it as such.
  • #2 - Keep your firearm pointed downrange at all times.
  • #3 - Keep your finger off the trigger until ready to shoot.
  • #4 - Know your target and what is beyond your target.
  • Eye and ear protection is required while on the shooting range. These will be provided to you if you do not have your own. Prescription eyewear and inexpensive earplugs are sufficient.  
  • the target is a standard B-27 silhouette target. You must score at least 175/250.
  • You will fire 20 rounds from 3 yards, 20 rounds at 7 yards, and 10 rounds from 15 yards.
  • Gun safety is a must. the instruction the RSO gives you are rules, not guidelines.
  • If you have a question, ask your question. I would rather repeat myself 10 times, than to be shot 1 time.
  • Keep your gun pointed downrange at all times.
  • Guns do not kill people, people who do not follow the rules might kill people.
  • If you misbehave or fail to follow the rules, you will be asked to leave the range - Refunds Will Not Be Given.
  • Testing will be done in pairs or groups, dependent on the range. I will determine the pairs/groups.
  • Spouses will not be allowed to shoot together - this is a safety issue.
  • The range proficiency is not a race, or a competition.
  • You may share a handgun for the range proficiency test - you will shoot separately.
  • If your handgun misfires, jams, stovepipes, or fails to fire during the test remain calm, keep the gun pointed downrange and lower it. You will be assisted in clearing it and then allowed to continue.
  • The Instructor reserves the right to deem a firearm unusable and/or unsafe. You must choose another before being allowed to continue.
  • Both the range and TGA will have handguns for rental if needed, as well as ammunition.
  • The range proficiency requires 50 rounds of ammunition. I highly recommend you bring more in case of misfires or jams, etc.
  • You can qualify with a semi-automatic handgun or with a revolver - single action or double action.
  • You can use any type of factory ammunition (full metal jacket, jacketed hollow point, round nose, etc.)
  • You CANNOT use reloaded ammunition or ammunition that has a steel core bullet.
  • Your firearm will be checked.
  • Your ammunition will be checked for factory brand name ammunition - Federal, Winchester, Remington, etc.
  • If it not your turn to shoot, you are to be behind the Firing Line, at a safe distance away.
  • Brass ejected from a firearm is HOT! When it hits bare skin, it sticks to bare skin. It helps to dress appropriately – no low-cut shirts, wear long sleeves, no sandals.
  • You may take your range proficiency test at another time if necessary. I am happy to make arrangements for a time more convenient for you… but it will likely require the use of a range near me, in the Rowlett/Rockwall/Garland area. There are several ranges in the vicinity, but you will be required to pay their range fee. Most offer Military discounts. You can also take your LTC-100 form after completing the classroom portion, and take your range proficiency test at almost any range in Texas but you will be required to pay their fee.
  • If using a semi-automatic handgun, you must be able to load your magazine, and load your magazine into your handgun without assistance, as well as unload.
  • If using a revolver, you must be able to load and unload the gun without assistance.


  • You must be 21 years old (or active Military) to apply for a Texas LTC.
  • You must be You must be a Texas Resident for 6 months preceding the date of application.
  • The Range Proficiency test is not required for everyone – please refer to TX DPS (HB 3784) website for details.
  • As of September 1, 2017, the Texas DPS Application fees changed. YAY! See fee schedule here: https://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/LTC/documents/LTCFeeSchedule.pdf
  • You must submit an online Application to the State of Texas for your License To Carry (Form LTC-78A). For forms: https://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/LTC/forms/index.html.
  • You must schedule an appointment for fingerprinting - normally you will receive instructions via email upon submitting your application. https://www.dps.texas.gov/administration/crime_records/pages/applicantfingerprintservices.html.
  • TX DPS will make every effort to issue your license within 60 days of receiving all completed information. If your application is incomplete or requires additional documents or information to complete the background check, you will be notified in writing.